Wofford College

Digital Commons @ Wofford

Methodist Local Church Records

Methodist Collection

10-30-2024

New El Bethel Conway Church History

New El Bethel United Methodist Church, Conway

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.wofford.edu/churchrecords



Part of the History of Christianity Commons

Recommended Citation

New El Bethel United Methodist Church, Conway, "New El Bethel Conway Church History" (2024). Methodist Local Church Records. 606.

https://digitalcommons.wofford.edu/churchrecords/606

This Book is brought to you for free and open access by the Methodist Collection at Digital Commons @ Wofford. It has been accepted for inclusion in Methodist Local Church Records by an authorized administrator of Digital Commons @ Wofford. For more information, please contact stonerp@wofford.edu.

NEW EL BETHEL UNITED METHODIST CHURCH

ESTABLISHED 1912

Our church was organized in 1912. The first pastor, Revend A D Betts, held services at Four Mile School House. The church was called El Bethel Episcopal Methodist, South. Pastor Betts rode a bicycle to preach on Sundays at the newly formed church. In 1921, the first church was built on what is now our parking lot, on land donated by Mr. John Dix. The members continued to worship in the original building until 1976 when the new church was completed. The original church building was sold to another church congregation and is still being used as a house of worship in a rural area of Conway.

In 1969, Ms. Orlean Compton sold the congregation one-half acre of land adjoining the church property for the sum of One Dollar for the purpose of building a new church. Construction on the new church began in 1975 by Mishoe Construction Company and concluded in 1976. The Reverend W. B. Love, III was the Pastor during the construction of the church, during which time he and various other members of the congregation helped with the construction of the church. The new church was now called El Bethel United Methodist Church. The first service held in the new church was Homecoming Service on October 30, 1976; with service beginning at 10:00 AM followed by lunch at 12:30 and a song service at 2:00 PM. Reverend J. Clark Hughes, conducted the Homecoming Service. All former pastors, members, and friends were invited to attend.

In 2004, The South Carolina United Methodist Conference made the decision to merge three smaller churches into one. Those smaller churches were: Hebron United Methodist Church in Toddville which is on the National Registry of Historical Places; El Bethel United Methodist Church; and Willow Springs United Methodist Church on Cates Bay Highway, which was organized in1894. It was decided that Hebron and Willow Springs would be closed and respective memberships would be combined at El Bethel, with the changing of their names to New El Bethel United Methodist Church. The Reverend Sarah Branyon was the presiding pastor at the three churches during the merger.

In 2006, the UMC Conference formed a new charge of New El Bethel United Methodist Church and Brown Swamp United Methodist Church under the leadership of Pastor John Preer. In 2014, Brown Swamp and New El Bethel were separated and a new charge consisting of Antioch United Methodist Church and New El Bethel, under the leadership of Reverend Jim Hyatt was formed. We are currently still on this charge under the leadership of Reverend Dickie Knight and Associate Pastor Darrell Ricketts.

Our church has been located on this corner of Highway 501 for the past 111 years. There have been many who have led and attended this church from the beginning through today. We thank God for all those leaders and congregational members who have helped to make us --The Little Christian Light Shining on the Corner.

WILLOW SPRINGS -		EL BETHEL/NEW EL BETHEL		
1894	Rev. GS Goodwin	1973	Rev. WB Love, III	
1897	Rev. JF Way	1977	Rev. JC Hughes	
1900	Rev. W F Dukes	1980	Rev. E & RM Nivens	
1901	Rev. JC Welch	1982	Rev. J Weisner	
1902	Rev. WW Williams	1984	Rev. J Franklin	
1903	Rev. FE Hodges	1985	Rev. W Waters	
1905	Rev .HL Singleton	1986	Rev. H Rist	
1907	Rev. GP Penny	1988	Rev. C Hunsucker	
1909	Rev. ON Roundtree	1989	Rev. E George	
1912	Rev. WR Barnes	1993	Rev. TW Atkins	
	Rev. AD Betts	1994	Rev. D Sweatt	
1915	Rev. WA Youngblood	1998	Rev. J Cribb	
1918	Rev. WH Perry	2000	Rev. S Branyon	
1919	Rev. WL Parker	2005	Rev. J Preer	
1922	Rev. WL Guy	2009	Rev. N Woods	
1923	Rev. LW Sealey	2014	Rev. J L Hyatt, Jr	
1924	Rev. WL Stalvey	2016	Rev. R L Harper	
1925	Rev. WH Morrison	2017	Rev R H Knight	
1928	Rev. JL Mullinix		Rev D Ricketts	
1929	Rev. WS Heath			
1930	Rev. JR Sojourner			
1932	Rev. T Kemmerlin			
1935	Rev. WT Bedenbaugh			
1938	Rev. F Conley			
1939	Rev. RA Berry			
	Rev. JH Eaddy			
1940	Rev. B Doggett			
1943	Rev. GA Teasley			
1945	Rev. PB McLeod			
1947	Rev. Saireo			
1948	Rev. RM Tucker			
1950	Rev. Rivi Tucker			
1954	Rev. FW Lee			
1961		Rev. V Bullock		
1962				
1964	Rev. V Bullock			
1965	Rev. V Bullock			
1966	Rev. RM Kimrey			
1969	Rev. Z Farmer			